Cruising

Cruising Northern Michigan and Canada (The North Channel)

Just an update on our Northern Adventure. We are currently back in Michigan waters. While still technically still in Lake Huron we can’t be to close to Lake Michigan. We are back in St Ignace Michigan just north of the Mackinac Bridge. I recently found out, from my sister, that St. Ignace was one of my Mother’s favorite places. I never knew that. Being the youngest child you miss some of that information. Maybe that’s one of the reasons I like it so much here. It could be buried deep in my psyche, but that’s another case for some therapist or maybe even a book.
We spent almost 3 weeks in the North Channel and Canada. It’s beautiful, people were for the most part friendly and very helpful. Everyone has an opinion of what’s the best to see and where to stay. Word of mouth is the best advertizing. But, you have to just separate the wheat from the chaff. Sometimes that just takes checking out what was suggested and making your own decision. Everyone has their own opinion. (I think I’ve heard that before)
Anyway, some of what we learned are:
You can’t see it all in one visit.
Listen to what people say, then make your own decision
Expect to see the same people in different places
Beauty is in the eye of the beholder
Water diffuses the view underneath
Fog can really close in around you
Radar is a good thing
Loaner bicycles don’t always work the best
Some marinas are smoother than others
Engines burn a lot less fuel going down stream rather than up-stream
It always takes more cash than you thought
There is always someone better at boat handling
There is always someone worse at boat handling
Keep fenders on both sides of the boat

(Hold on the guy next to us is getting ready to leave and I want to be out by the boat.) Holy Shit This same guy that almost ran into us coming into the dock just about took out us and 3 others on his way out. The guy is a menace!
Well, back to cruising. This is a good example, just because you are trying to relax be prepared to “fend off” what you don’t expect. Now take a cleansing breath and get back to where you were.
On a different note. We had a boat tied up next to us here in St. Ignace. Yes, it is the boat of the crazy man who can’t steer a boat for crap. I noticed the name of the boat “G Wizard”. I thought he might be a retired science teacher. Some may remember the science show “Mr. Wizard” at least that’s how my brain went. Then I heard him talking about a “black” being the head of the ATF.
He was not in favor of this appointment. Then I thought of the boat name again, “G Wizard”, and my mind went another way. I know that the KKK had a large following in Southwestern Michigan. Could this be true for Northeastern Michigan also? It is hard for me to wrap my brain around. I will admit that I am naive about a lot of things and this is one of them.
This brings us back to cruising or traveling wherever. You will find many people ready to help. But, with all the good there are people who will take advantage of you. To me it is sad to think that there are people who look for ways to take advantage of someone elses kindness.
Until next time “Be excellent to each other”.

Standard

One thought on “Cruising Northern Michigan and Canada (The North Channel)

Leave a Reply

