Book Reviews, Personnal views

New Adventures

We can all lose ourselves in the adventures of a book or movie, but sometimes a person has to step out of the comfort zone that is everyday. We are getting ready for that kind of move. After almost twenty years at the same address my wife “Dearest” and I are moving from our regular address and onto our boat. The plan is to leave not only our home on land but our home port and travel the “Great Loop”. A trip that will include the American Great Lakes, major rivers, canals, the Intracoastal Waterway, and even some ocean travel.

When I look at the views for this “blog” I see that the most views have been when I have written about our cruising. For those of you that like that there should be plenty more cruising entries. I hope that they will have a book review every once in a while also. Part of the adventure is finding local authors and stories of the areas that we travel.

This brings me to today’s entry. Being kind of busy with getting the house ready and moving onto the boat I haven’t been reading as much as when there was 3 feet of snow on the ground. But I have finished a couple of books and they warrant some kind of mention.

“Winter of the World” by Ken Follett copyright 2012. The second in the Century trilogy, “Winter of the World” follows the three main families from the 1930’s to the 1950’s. Follett tells a great story that intertwines the characters and always keeps you interested. I will look forward to finishing the trilogy.

“Tropic of Night” by Michael Gruber copyright 2003. This the first in the series with Miami detective Jimmy Paz. I had already read the second book “Valley of Bones” and was suggested the third “Night of the Jaguar” by my sister. That’s why I thought I’d better find out how the series began. “Tropic of Night” really made me concentrate, Gruber takes the reader into a world westerners don’t find comfortable, different beliefs that include sorcerers different Gods and rituals thought to be disgusting by most Americans. Keep an open mind and enjoy the ride. It’s a thrill.

Now, I’ve got to get back to getting ready for a huge garage sale, lots of great stuff. If you’re in the area stop by and get a treasure for next to nothing.

Next up; “The Heart of Everything That Is” by Bob Drury and Tom Clavin. Brought to me by some friends that traveled in the Western United States, this is said to be the “Untold Story of Red Cloud, an American Legend”.

 

Standard

Leave a Reply

