Book Reviews

Book Reviews, or, How I spent my spare time for the last weeks.

I set a goal of 100 books to read in 2014. I am not going to make the goal. When I chose the number 100 I thought “I can do this, it’s less than last year.” Amazing how life can make reading books a lower priority. I am not saying, don’t read, what I’m saying is sometimes reading for pleasure can be moved down on the list of “things to do.”

In the last few weeks I’ve been reading and maybe lower on the list of priorities is writing about each book at the completion. The blog was supposed to be fun and for a while it was turning into work. But here is what changed my mind about book reviews.
I had someone ask “What happened to the book reports you were writing about?” Well, for that reader I am sorry I haven’t kept up. Here is the list of books that I’ve read in the past month.

Coup d’Etat Ben Coes 2011
The Sinai Secret Gregg Loomis 2008
Treasure Clive Cussler 1988
Unbroken Laura Hillenbrand 2010
Shadow Prey John Sandford 2009
Moon Music Faye Kellerman 1999

All these books read well some better than others.

th_004“Coup d’Etat” has to do with a man who works undercover for the government and almost single-handed stops an all out nuclear war between India and Pakistan, while being hunted by a billionaire religious fanatic who is financing any group that will help bring the “great satan” to it’s knees. If you like Brad Thor you will like Ben Coes.

“The Sinai Secret” finds scientists that are funded by the same foundation are being killed 9780843960426because of the knowledge the have acquired. I thought by the title it would have something to do with current “middle-east” situation, but it’s not. The book kept my attention and read fast.

“Treasure” was a re-release of the original Dirk Pitt, NUMA images_010adventure. If you like Dirk Pitt and haven’t already read every Cussler novel you will like “Treasure” I had read it before but read it again. Pitt’s a hound dog in this book.

“Unbroken” is a just released movie directed by Angelina JoLee. I read the book before the movie th_004came out. Here’s the deal. In the 70’s I lived in the Denver Colorado area. At work I dealt with a man who was a former POW in Japan. This gentleman was friends with Metal of Honor recipient Gregory “Pappy” Boyington. Boyington was mentio

ned in the book and it is very possible that the person I knew was in the same camp as “Unbroken’s” main character Louis Zamperini. At times the person I knew would start looking a bit haggard and worse for wear. Then he would be gone for a time. His wife told me that he would be back in the VA Hospital dealing with what was done to him during his captivity. Some of these guys really had difficulty dealing with the after effects of the war. Way before PTSD became a common glossed over explanation for “battle fatigue” or “Shell Shock”. I think some readers will not believe what one human can do to another. Everyone has to deal with their war in their own way. I found Zamperini’s transformation a bit far-fetched. But like I said everyone has to deal in their own way.

“Shadow Prey” takes place in the Minneapolis/St. Paul, Minnesota area. Most people don’t think of that area as a place where shadow-prey-john-sandford-paperback-cover-arta large population of American Indians live. However, it is and whites throughout history have done some really bad things to the natives of America. Now some are getting back at a number of the whites that control reservations and Indian affairs. Read fast and kept my interest. There is more truth that can be written about the Minnesota Sioux tribe.

“Moon Music” Funny how things go. The main character in this book is half American Indian. th_002Set in Las Vegas and surrounding areas of Nevada, Moon Music makes a turn toward the end that, in my opinion, makes the ending unbelievable, or at least hard to believe. My first outing with the author I will think twice about reading more from her.

We have completed our repairs and are now getting ready to resume our adventure. Soon we will be leaving Mobile area and heading toward Florida and the Gulf of Mexico. Watch for exciting updates on Facebook and more in debt stories.

Have a great Christmas, Holidays or Yule season.

Finished another before I got a chance to edit and upload this entry,

9781250047274_p0_v3_s260x420“How the Light Gets In” by Louise Penny copyright 2013, found a hard cover in the cheep stacks at a book store while waiting for Toots to be groomed. I’ve enjoyed the other Louise Penny, Chief Inspector Gamache, and enjoyed this book as well. Although this seems to be sort of ending in the career of the Chief Inspector, but there is enough hints to lead to other Gamache books. Well worth the time to read and now have to look for the others in the series that I’ve missed.

Standard

Leave a Reply

